It’s In His Kiss by Jill Shalvis | Book Review

 It’s In His Kiss by Jill Shalvis

SYNOPSIS

Becca Thorpe has uprooted her life and escaped to the beach. Now’s her chance to get away from city living, throw caution to the ocean winds, and live in the moment. Especially if the moment includes the deliciously sexy surfer she meets shortly after arriving in Lucky Harbor. Something about the dark intensity of Sam’s eyes and the thrill she gets at his touch convinces her to stay awhile.

Boatbuilder and investment genius Sam Brody is a self-made man who knows how dangerous it can be to mix business and pleasure. But he can’t resist offering Becca a job just to hear her laugh and have her near. Yet when her brother comes to town asking for help, will he tempt her back to her glamorous life in the city? Or do Sam and little Lucky Harbor have a chance to win Becca’s heart?

*** 3 STARS ***

I have a love and hate relationship with this book.

Let’s discuss with the former. I love Lucky Harbor! That’s one of the reasons why I keep reading this series. I adore the quintessential, laid back feel the small town offers. The fact that its situated in the Pacific Northwest (Washington — my favorite state) is a plus for me. As a reader, I value the atmosphere where the story flourishes. My mind would reel in images, and it fascinates me how vivid everything is in my head. For a story to be engaging, it should capture the readers imagination just from the locale itself. And that’s what I love about Jill Shalvis’ Lucky Harbor series. The people in the community are all so welcoming! They know everybody, and that makes living in Lucky Harbor a safe place to live in. I also admire the support and love Sam receives from his close friends Cole and Tanner. They may not be brothers by blood, but their bond is as strong as real families have.

Now, what I don’t like about this book is the main and supporting characters. Becca Thorpe grew up in New Orleans, what brought her to lucky harbor is a mystery. She’s sweet and has a soft spot for kids, and is crazy for ranch (dressing?) popcorn. Just like any fictional heroine, she has life issues: (1) family, and (2) relationships. One thing I don’t like about Becca is her lack of confidence. She’s a talented pianist but had experience an unfortunate event that made her shy away from playing in front of an audience. Her reason for having panic attacks are so vague that by the time she finally revealed her secret to Sam, the suspense isn’t there anymore.

Sam Brody’s life isn’t at all perfect. He has a dad who constantly mooch from him, he witnessed the death of a dear friend who died in the rig during an operation gone wrong, and like most guys, he doesn’t do relationships. Until he meets, Becca. One thing I don’t like about Sam is he’s a TEASE! I want to smack him! If I were Becca I would think that he’s not into women or just not interested in HER at all! There were instances that he would try to seduce her but backs out, because he thinks Becca is not ready for that sort of commitment. But when Becca tells him that she loves him, he freaks out and disappears! Wtf?! I swear, I want to kick his balls!

Oh, and did I mention that I dislike Becca’s brother and her parents? They just took advantage of her kindness! Her parents favors her brother more because he has ‘problems’, and Becca is the only one who can make those ‘problems’ go away. I am actually quite impressed of Becca, some people would feel guilty leaving their family, and that guilt hinders them to make something for themselves. Although Becca feels guilty, she knows that she needs to move on and start a life of her own. Hats off, Becca!

Overall, the book is good. Not my favorite amongst the Lucky Harbor novels, but still made me feel emotions that only a wonderfully written book can.

In Print

Amazon | B&N | BAM | Indie Bound | Powell’s | Target | Walmart 

Digital

Kindle | Nook | BAM | Kobo | iBooks

