Playing With Her Heart by Lauren Blakely (Book Review)

Playing With Her Heart (Caught Up In Us, #3)

Buy Links

Amazon

BARNES & NOBLE

KOBO

Synopsis

From the NYT & USA Today Bestselling romance author, a story of sex, secrets, and theater…

“My whole body is vibrating, and I am lit up from the inside out. Every part of me is aching for him. I’m completely naked on top of the piano and he rakes me over with his eyes, making me feel like I’m the only one he’s ever wanted like this. I don’t know how he does this to me, how he makes me feel charged all over, but I’ve never been this turned on. I didn’t know I could be this turned on, but this man makes me feel like my body belongs to him…”

Twenty-three year old rising theatre star Jill McCormick has built a life out of pretending. Pretending she’s happy, pretending she’s not haunted by the dark secret that shattered her world six years ago. But then she comes face to face with her new director — sexy, sophisticated, jealous, all-alpha, dirty-talking Davis Milo. He tries to resist the actress he’s cast, but the attraction between them is too powerful, and soon their private rehearsals spiral into new, forbidden territory. The connection, the chemistry is undeniable, and it hits them anywhere, and everywhere — in the theater, on the piano, in the limo, in the restaurant…But the tragedy in Jill’s past stands between them. Davis has walls too, so they can either face their fears together, or risk the most intense love, sex and passion either has ever felt…

“I move with him, letting him touch me, kiss me, taste my body like I’m his canvas and he’s painting me with his tongue…”

Book Review

First and foremost, this is my FIRST EVER Lauren Blakely book that I read. The reason why I bought this, as soon as it went LIVE, is because of Steve Boyd and the teasers I’ve read from the book blogs I’ve been following. The teasers are so enticing that I could no longer wait for the release. Thank goodness Miss Lauren released it much earlier.

Anyway, for my review. I LOVE everything about this book. The way Miss Lauren describe everything Broadway is so efficient that it made me LOVE Broadway. I’m not a Broadway or Opera type of girl but her writing definitely absorbs me, allows me to live in Jill’s life as an actress, and let me tell you being a Broadway actress is NOT an easy task. Imagine doing rehearsals every day! That’s VERY exhausting. I’m sure acting on-screen feels the same way, too. Constant repetition of a scene when something goes wrong, but Broadway is totally different! One wrong move could make or break the whole show. So, if you can act in Broadway, you definitely be successful in movies, too.

I love Davis Milo. He is my ideal book boyfriend. Dirty talker but gentle, sexy and classy, but most of all, he gives it all when he falls in love. *DREAMY* I liked the part where he finally gave up his ‘no-dating-actress’ rule and act on it! He’s not hot-and-cold, he is all HOT (with double T)!! It helps too that Steve Boyd is my main man for the part. He is just so perfect for Davis Milo. *sigh*

Now, the sex scenes are a bit intense but nothing too kinky (and I love it!). If you’re squeamish with dirty, sweaty, hot sex then this book isn’t for you. However, if you want to dive in to the nasty side for a bit, then come join the club. YOU. WON’T. REGRET!

All in all, my 5-fabulous stars are so worth it! Miss Lauren Blakely has earned my LOYALTY by this book, and I can’t wait to read her other works. I definitely put her on my Top List of BEST ROMANCE AUTHOR EVER EXISTED IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD along with Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Susan Mallery.

Author Bio

Lauren Blakely is an unabashed fan of clever jokes, toast, and good guys in novels. Like the heroine in TROPHY HUSBAND, she thinks life should be filled with hot men, cool clothes, and the kind of love that love songs promise. Lauren lives in California with her husband and children, and spends her days writing both true stories and make-believe ones.

Contact Author

facebook_logo

goodreads_logo

twitter

2 thoughts on “Playing With Her Heart by Lauren Blakely (Book Review)

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout
    on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

Comments are closed.