The Girl in 6E by Alessandra Torre (Book Review)

The Girl in 6ERating: 4.5 stars

The appreciation I had with erotic novels went downhill when I read E.L. James “50 Shades of Grey”. Now, don’t hate me. I do love Christian Grey’s classic charm and oozing sexuality but the BDSM act is just way too much for me to take in. So I made sure to detour myself from erotica… until now.

Here’s a quick synopsis of the book:

I screw men for money. Not literally, think phone sex operator with a 15 megapixel web cam thrown in. They tell me their deepest, darkest fantasies while paying me $6.99 a minute. 

What would possess me to engage in such a business? Throw in a tortured past, 24/7 murderous thoughts, and a desire to keep the innocent people of my small town safe. 

I was contained, out of the way, sexcamming my way to utter obscurity until HE came along. A twisted client armed with a target’s name. Annie. And in that name, everything changed.

Y’know, I really can’t place this book in a certain category that’s for sure. I thought its erotica but its actually not. Let’s just say it has a mix of suspense, unusual sexual encounters, psychological thriller (???), with a dose of “Criminal Minds” motif thrown for added excitement.

Main character of the book is Jessica Reilly (aka Deanna), who works as a cam-girl for a living (and earns a hefty sum of money doing it) with a bizarre obsession: THE DESIRE TO KILL. Because of this urge to commit murder, she isolates herself from any physical human contact. Now, what’ll happen when a little girl is in danger and she’s the only one who can save her (which is kind of ironic since she mostly certainly need saving as well), AND what’s an attractive UPS delivery guy has to do with her urge to kill?

First few chapters got me all hot and bothered (pheew!) but as you go along the story, you’d actually forget what kind of book you’re reading. Is it a psychological thriller? Suspense? Lust? Hmm. I can’t be certain. You’ll have to read for yourself. That being said, sex scenes are pretty limited so don’t expect a lot. Get yourself some Sylvia Day or H.M. Ward books if you’re looking for hardcore ones.

I do have some minor complaints with the book, the characters are a bit confusing. I wasn’t sure which POV I’m reading into. I had to re-read a couple of paragraph to get the idea but it wasn’t a deal-breaker for me, ergo, the 4.5 star.

This eBook is available in Barnes & NobleAmazon, and Kobo.

 

***UPDATE (August 08, 2013) = THE GIRL IN 6E will be out for print and audiobook next year. Click here to read more.***

 

 

