The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom (Book Review)

The Five People You Meet in HeavenThe Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m having mixed feelings of giving this book a 3 or 3.5. For one thing, I enjoyed it but not a lot and I wouldn’t say its my favorite book cause its not (to me that is). It has an interesting story, sorta baffling at first but you’ll get into a pace where you know what kind of story the next chapter bears. Weird thing is, as I was reading, flashes of movie-like scenes keep popping in my head like “Scrooge”. Y’know the part where three ghost of Christmas (past, present, future) showed up in his dreams, but this time though the main character died as soon as the story began.

What draw me to the read the book is the title. Seriously, are you not interested of knowing who Eddie (the main character) meets in heaven? I did. This may sound unusual but after reading the book I started thinking what’ll happen AFTER my demise and who would greet me in Heaven. I mean, no one is immortal not unless you’re a vampire or some powerful man/woman who has the ability to prolong mortality (which I doubt none of the aforementioned ever existed anyway). Humans, even animals, go through the same process from the beginning of time: we would someday meet our Maker. And that’s a done deal, dude. Done. Deal.

There are some excellent points in the story. Lessons, if you will. But nothing ever struck me. Well, he did mention Philippines a few times (so psyched about this part) and reading through our history books back in elementary and high school (even college), WWII is no joke. Americans and Filipino soldiers die in the hands of Japanese soldiers. Innocent lives perished, houses burned to the ground, and sacrifices has to be made. Nothing has ever been the same thereafter.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quick read. Nothing emotional (at least to me).

View all my reviews

