Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (Book Review)

Thirteen Reasons WhyThirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve read other readers review on this book, and usually they give a 2 or 3 stars (tops!) for this cause it is utterly depressing. I mean, who in their right mind would read a book about a girl who committed suicide and explains WHY she took her life in the audiotapes she left behind. Twisted isn’t it (Gosh! I love that word)? I’m actually not a huge fan of depressing novels but this I had to make an exception. I mean, I couldn’t even put it down cause every chapter tells a persons involvement with the main character, a realization, a flashback. And for the reader to understand fully, one must keep on track.

To my readers who wants to give this book a try despite of negative feedback, I’ll give you a quick summary of what ‘Thirteen Reasons Why‘ is all about:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Intriguing, isn’t it? I feel the same way as I read the cover, and even though I know its a tragic story with no happy ending I was still able to finish it (oh, the horror of sad stories!).

One thing I would like to point out is the VALUE of what Jay Asher is trying to convey. A lot of teens commit suicide nowadays, just like Hannah Baker, who felt betrayed and hopeless. There are many factors that contributes to teen suicide:

  • Divorce of parents
  • Violence in the home
  • Inability to find success in school
  • Feeling of worthlessness
  • Rejection of friends or peers
  • Substance abuse
  • Death of someone close to the teenager
  • The suicide of a friend or someone he or she knows ‘online’
  • Constant bullying
In our generation today, constant bullying is becoming a huge problem leading to teens taking their own lives. Being criticized or mocked by classmates/peers violates the victim’s self-esteem causing him/her to feel degraded, looked down, and depress. Many of us can handle this criticism cause we have our own support group (i.e. parents, friends, counselors), and we know ourselves better. But what about those people especially teens who suffers from rejection, and criticism; who could no longer handle the constant taunting of other people, finds solace in suicide.

A movie adaptation is currently at work starring Selena Gomez as Hannah Baker.  There hasn’t been any updates with regards to the movie but it will be out 2013.

Fore more Thirteen Reasons Why info, visit their official website at ThirteenReasonsWhy.com

View all my reviews

18 thoughts on “Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher (Book Review)

  1. Im so happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation thats at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc. 746155

  2. I cannot thank you fully for the blogposts on your web page. I know you placed lots of time and effort into all of them and hope you know how considerably I appreciate it. I hope I will do precisely the same for an additional individual at some point. Palm Beach Condos 707540

  3. Superb post. I was checking constantly this weblog and Im impressed! Really beneficial details specially the last part I care for such details significantly. I was seeking this certain details for a long time. Thank you and finest of luck. 190009

  4. An fascinating discussion may possibly be worth comment. I believe you ought to write on this subject, it may well undoubtedly be a taboo topic but typically folks are not enough to dicuss on such topics. To a higher. Cheers 198399

  5. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read? 981117

  6. I just want to tell you that I’m new to weblog and really savored you’re web page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your site . You actually come with impressive writings. With thanks for revealing your website.

  7. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

Comments are closed.