This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen (Book Review)

This LullabyThis Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This is my third (or fourth. I lost count) Sarah Dessen book, and this is by far the most depressing one I’ve read. I was hoping it would be like ‘The Truth About Forever‘ (which by the way, a book that I come to love, and will definitely read it again) and ‘Along For The Ride‘ but unfortunately, it came out as a total shock. I should, however, be relating well to Remy given the fact that I had a dysfunctional family, and had been to many relationships (thirteen, to be precise) before I found my ‘Dexter’.

Anyway, for the benefit of my valuable readers who, despite of my negative feedback, are still willing to endure a good four-hours (depending on your reading skills) to read this book. Here goes:

Remy always knows the perfect time to give a boyfriend ‘the speech’ telling him it’s over: right after the first romantic rush, but before any real emotional involvement happens. And Remy should have perfect timing, since she’s had plenty of experience dumping guys. Not to mention what she’s learned from watching her own mother, who’s been married four times and is heading for wedding number five.

So then what is it about Dexter that makes it so hard for Remy to follow her own rules? He’s everything she hates: messy, disorganized, impulsive, and worst of all, a musician like her father. The father Remy never knew, the one who wrote a famous song for her but disappeared from her life. Remy has never had trouble getting out while the getting is good. But there’s just something about Dexter. Could it be that Remy is finally finding out what all those love songs are about?

Let me tell you something about Remy’s character, two words: anal retentive. She’s a neat-freak and is an achiever (I guess all of Sarah Dessen’s lead character are like that)! But what make Remy’s character stand out is because she’s the ultimate player, has vices, and does NOT believe in love. The latter part actually threw me off since I’m a hopeless romantic, which by the way mean (per Google search): one who looks for a person that makes their world come together. They’re not to be confused as stalkers or creepy (There! I’m not a creep, okay?! Enough said).

I think Dexter is the hopeless romantic one but he’s actually not the type of guy I would WANT to date with. He’s a slob, clumsy, don’t know how to do his laundry properly (I mean, my husband can do better job than him?! Sheesh), and not a husband material. Two things I like about him though: he’s funny AND a musician! I always have a soft spot for musicians. I don’t know why but I’m glad that I didn’t end up with one. I don’t want any groupies around my man, that’s for sure!

You can see that Remy and Dexter are absolutely opposite! In every. Freaking. Way! But I guess love can overlook anything. It can move mountains. It can even launch a thousand ships and lead a country to war (I know, I know its Helen’s beauty not love but it’s a very good example, right?). Moot point is nothing is impossible when it comes to love. I’m not a love psychologist or anything, I don’t even have a plaque of recognition for that. Just an avid-reader who wants to vent out.

And I’ve come to conclusion that this book did not do anything good for me. I was disappointed, ergo, the one-star.

Even so, I’m still recommending it to all Sarah Dessen fans, young-adults who lost hope in love, and just any avid young-adult fiction reader. This one got rave reviews from Goodreads, so I think its just me and my subconscious who think its bad.

Enjoy!

View all my reviews

One thought on “This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen (Book Review)

Comments are closed.