When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle (Book Review)

When You Were MineWhen You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle
My rating: 2 of 5 stars


“The hardest part about letting someone go is realizing you were never meant to have them.” -Len

A simple phrase yet bestows deep meaning. We all know Shakespeare’s famous star-crossed lovers Romeo and Juliet. Heck, we all fell in love with Leonardo DiCaprio in the 1996 movie adaptation, and I’m sure most of us despised Claire Danes for playing Juliet. To me, that was the first time I laid eyes on Leo, and I’ve been a fan of his work ever since.

Back to my review! I notice that some of Goodreads valuable members have different views with regards to the book. Some dislike one of the characters, and some just didn’t like it entirely. Everyone’s a critic! I, too, had my share of negative reviews. Anyway, I was curious of why this book was not on Goodreads Most Read Young Adult Books. I mean, it is after all the story of Romeo and Juliet with a twist. Everyone loves Romeo and Juliet, right? I was intrigue. So, I grab a copy, sat down in one of our library’s cozy chair, and read the book for four hours straight. No toilet break!

I’m happy with how it all started and ended. It’s not your usual Young-Adult novel where the girl had to choose between two boys who make her insides flutter in so many ways. Rosaline already made a choice to be with Rob but when her cousin Juliet came back, everything went awry! Rob and Juliet dated, while Rosaline tend her broken heart still hoping that Rob would change his mind and come back to her.

I feel extremely bad for Rosaline, and pissed at Rob and Juliet. I couldn’t blame Rob though, he didn’t commit to Rosaline. They weren’t boyfriend/girlfriend in the first place, all they have is this unspoken “mutual understanding”. But my heart ached for Rosaline, still. I know how she felt, it’s like being stab repeatedly.

It took Rosaline long time to notice Len her lab partner (Jeez! I’m amaze how this lab partner thing can lead to a full blown chemistry). He’s one of those notorious, problematic kid who give teachers a hard time but unexpectedly smart and cares a lot. Len may be charming but Rosaline still has feelings for Rob, and Rob clearly loves Juliet. See, what I mean?

The book illustrates moral values, too. Like, not to hold grudges, make amends, learn to let go, and forgive.

I’m not a huge fan of Romeo and Juliet but I know that their love is true, just like Rob and Juliet. They might had hurt a lot of people (family, friends, Rosaline) but they did love each other even if they died a tragic death.

View all my reviews

One thought on “When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle (Book Review)

Comments are closed.