The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (Book Review)

“John Green writes Incredible, honest truths, about the secret, weird hearts of human beings. He makes me laugh and gasp at the beauty of a sentence or a twist of a tale. He is one of the best writers alive and I am seething with envy of his talent.” –E. Lockhart, author of The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and The Boyfriend List (As seen on the back cover)

WARNING: Some information on this review contains spoilers. You have been warned. 

There are some things in life that we hate: A person, a situation, or a story, and unfortunately you can’t do anything about them but to live with it.

I don’t have any passion in reading sad stories cause my life already has its own version of sad stories. I lost people that I’ve loved: family, friends, and colleague. And reading stories about death and dying would only make it worse, thus I tend to keep my distance from thIS kind of prose. You may think that I’m a hypocrite for reading “The Fault In Our Stars” since I only expect happy endings. Honestly, I’m flabbergasted with the ending. Sadden by the hero’s unforeseen demise. A part of me refuse to believe, I was hoping that I just read wrong, just like what Hazel Grace feel, hoping it was just all a bad dream.

I was teary-eyed with every turn of the page. Although there were some parts where I broke out with incessant laughter (Green does have a wicked sense of humor. Who would’ve thought dying has a sense of humor?). The ending is just like Peter Van Houten’s “An Imperial Affliction”: done but hanging. I would want to know if Hazel Grace survived, if Isaac found a girlfriend, or will Van Houten die because of liver cirrhosis, and if I ask John Green these questions, would he answer me with all his truthfulness or would he be a douche just like Peter Van Houten (LOL!!)?

This novel left me with questions, a broken heart, and yet I still gave it a 5-star. Just like “A Walk To Remember” (I’m referring to the movie adaptation), left me crying for days but I still watch it a hundred times, and cried even more (morbid much?).

I would recommend it to readers who loves tear-jerking novels, funny people who loves reading tear-jerking novels, or people who just love to read.


Note: I’m a huge fan of Young-Adult novels, can any of you recommend me a good one?
3 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (Book Review)

  1. Pingback: Paper Towns by John Green (Book Review) | Thoughts To Ponder

Comments are closed.