Cloaked | Alex Flinn

“I’m not your average hero. I actually wasn’t your average anything. Just a poor guy working an after-school job at a South Beach shoe repair shop to help his mom make ends meet. But a little magic changed it all.

It all started with a curse. And a frognapping. And one hot-looking princess, who asked me to lead a rescue mission.

There wasn’t a fairy godmother or any of that. And even though I fell in love along the way, what happened to me is unlike any fairy tale I’ve ever heard. Before I knew it, I was spying with a flock of enchanted swans, talking (yes, talking!) to a fox named Todd, and nearly trampled by giants in the Everglades.

Don’t believe me? I didn’t believe it either. But you’ll see. Because I knew it all was true, the second I got cloaked.”

 

As Told By Me

When I was little I always believe in fairy tales like fairy godmothers who make your wish come true with a swish of her wand, dashing princes in a stallion in search for a beautiful princess, talking animals, singing dwarfs, and evil step-mothers who turn out to be a wicked witch whose out to ruin your life and your happy ending! Jeez! Very melodramatic, right? But little did I know, beyond the princes and princesses falling in love with just one kiss lies a more meaningful and deeper story that would make Cinderella and Snow White look like gold diggers. For example, the Frog Prince, it’s not everyday that you encounter such surreal situation as this and I’m pretty sure that you would think twice before kissing an amphibian although he is a prince. Main lesson: do not judge a person by his or her physical features.

We as humans, the highest form of animal in the animal world, have inner desires and standards on what our lifetime partner would look like: tall, fair skin, pretty smile, perfect nose, luscious lips, six-pack of abs with strong chiseled physique, the list goes on and on! But have you ever thought of what would she or he be if time comes that you get married? Will mere beauty make you happy? Or would you regret it when time comes? No wonder divorce is common nowadays!

That’s what Johnny, a 17-year old shoe-repair boy desires the most! Attracted to Princess Victoriana of Aloria who visited Florida for a very important business. He never thought he would come face to face with the beautiful princess with a very odd request… to find her missing brother, Philippe, the heir to the throne of Aloria. Apparently, Philippe was turned into a frog when he fell for a village girl who really was the powerful Zalkenbourgian witch in disguise. And now Johnny must do the princess bidding so that he could fulfill his own dreams to marry Princess Victoriana and be rich! I mean, who could say no to a beautiful princess even though she sounds deluded. Victoriana then gave all the necessary things to Johnny to help him on his journey: ear buds for an iPod, loads of money, and the cloak that would transport him wherever he wishes. Johnny never thought it would be easy–no–but he never imagine it could be this dangerous! Getting locked up in a dungeon God-knows-where, facing off two giants, and almost got killed in pursuit of the frog. But everything is not possible without his trusty sidekick–his best friend Meg–who turns out to be one extraordinary chick. Together, they venture the world where they once thought doesn’t exist. Unbelievable!

The Review

Using famous fairy tales as her inspiration in creating this masterpiece, Alex Flinn really did an excellent job! By incorporating the stories of The Elves and the Shoemaker, The Frog Prince, The Six Swans, The Golden Bird, The Valiant Tailor, The Salad, and The Fisherman and his wife she made one incredible

About the Author: Alex Flinn

masterpiece! Kudos to you, Alex Flinn. You did a very wonderful job I’m now a fan of your work! I was thinking of reading Beastly which is now made into a film. To be honest, I’m not really looking forward in watching the movie since Vanessa Hudgens stars in it. Maybe because I don’t like High School Musical and the fact that she’s dating Zac Efron made me hate her even more. Oh well, she doesn’t know me anyway and I’m pretty sure there are a lot of haters out there apart from me. 🙂 If I do get the chance to watch Beastly then I’ll make another review to rant non-stop of how her acting sucks. LOL. *evil!*

 

Note: Please do leave a comment on what you think about this article. I would love to read your feedback. Thank you so much for your time! 

2 thoughts on “Cloaked | Alex Flinn

Comments are closed.