The Right Man

Is he Mr. Right or Mr. Wrong?

As I was browsing on my Twitter, I came across this tweet which I like the most, “The right man will love all the things about you that the wrong man took for granted.” I retweeted it from @GirlDictionary.

This quote actually make sense why girls go through being broken hearted. Every time we find someone whom we thought is compatible with us, it automatically registers in our brain the probability of him being  “The One” whose willing to be with you for the rest of your lives, whose up for the task of fathering your future-children, who won’t cheat, and who would treat you as the most beautiful woman on the planet (chubby or not). Come on, don’t lie! Every one of us wants to have a happy ending. There’s no need to be ashamed of how many times you get dumped, rejected, used, and taken for granted. I’ve been through that path and yes, I agree. It’s not easy. Dealing with a broken heart is never easy. You end up being miserable, alone, you’re starting to ask why you’re life is crappy, worried that you might end up an old-maid, and scared of loving someone assuming that you might get heart broken again. That’s the sad reality of being human.

My Experience

To be honest, I really don’t have a good track-record when it comes to my love life (just ask my friends). I almost thought that I found my happy ending but I end up being scammed and use. At the age of 13, I start to go on dates and had a boyfriend in the process. I thought being in a relationship was fun; having a friend and an intimate companion at the same time. But I was in total shock when I finally got the taste of my first heartbreak. It was awful! I can’t stop crying when a sad love song starts to play, I can’t eat, can’t sleep, can’t focus on the things I need to do, my grades slumps down, and all you can think about are “happy” times with him. It took me a year to get over that wretched feeling.

Moving On

After a year of feeling depress and too much thinking, I finally decided to leave depression behind and face a new life! I have a friend who e-mailed me asking, “Ate (a name for an older sister), what did you do to move on?“. With a quick response, I told her, “That’s easy, just do the opposite of how you feel… HATE him!”. My aunt actually told me that and apparently, it worked! Just do the opposite of adoring him and start hating his guts! Stop thinking of those sweet memories and start thinking of bad things that he’s done to you. Example, every time you text him, he’ll respond after two or three hours and say, “I’m sorry. I was playing Dota (famous online game in Philippines), or the time he forgets to greet you on your anniversary, or every time he chooses to hang out with his friends and give less attention to you. Think of those instances and you’ll end up resenting him in no time!

But when the “Right Man” comes… 

It may take a lot of failed relationships for you to go through before Mr. Right

My Prince Charming

magically lands in your doorstep. You might meet him in a grocery store where you bumped into each other, he may be a common friend of a friend, a cousin of your friend, a friend of yours who secretly loves you for many years, or a sincere gentleman who you met online. You may ask, “how would I know if he’s The One?” Honestly, you won’t! You’ll just feel it; sparks and butterfly in your tummy may not be distinct but it’s going to be incredible. All the qualities that you want in a man, that you specifically ask for, will come true. Me? I ask God to give me a man who would make me laugh, who won’t hurt me physically or emotionally, and loves me for who I am. I’ve waited for 23 years for that man, and now he has finally found me. He may not look like Brad Pitt or Josh Hartnett, but he’s MY prince charming and I love him. See? You just have to be patient and don’t be in a hurry, believe in what you ask for, pray for it and God will answer. He’ll give you MORE what you ask for.

4 thoughts on “The Right Man

  1. this not only applies to girls but to boys also. one might be bouncing around and wasting time with the wrong persons. but when the right one comes it comes quick and out of nowhere. it is just light a thunder bolt. it hits you and you will know it. i am hit.

Comments are closed.