JANE by April Lindner (Book Review)

What if Jane Eyre fell in love with a rock star?

First and foremost, I have not read any of Charlotte Bronte‘s work nor her sister Emily Bronte. However, I was able to watch ‘Jane Eyre‘ and ‘Wuthering Heights‘ transformed in the big screen. Their stories are a bit tragic and hopeless but for some surreal twist of circumstances happy ending finds its way in the story.

For some of you who haven’t read ‘JANE’ yet, here’s a quick introduction on what the book is all about.

Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance. But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?

An irresistible romance interwoven with a darkly engrossing mystery, this contemporary retelling of the beloved classic Jane Eyre promises to enchant a new generation of readers.

The plot sounds familiar, huh? According to April Lindner, her inspiration is Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre. She was wondering why Jane Eyre wasn’t given the spotlight like Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, ergo the creation of ‘Jane’. Truth be told, I was wondering that too. I mean, Jane Eyre wasn’t a bad story at all. Then it struck me, Jane Austen wrote one of the best characters I’ve ever read and somehow gotten to know (in a fictional way): headstrong, family oriented, intelligent, and exhibits a playful disposition. Although Elizabeth Bennet is sometimes prejudice, she has these attributes (and a family that I envy) that makes her unique and different from her sisters. Jane Eyre’s story is just too sad: no family that she can call her own, treated like a servant, and had to endure horrible situations. Her life is too melodramatic for my taste. Again, I approve of the story but I do not love it as much.

Ben Barnes as Nico Rathburn and Ashley Greene as Jane Moore

 The story is set during the 21st century which confuses me at first since I always picture the characters wearing corsets, petticoats, camisoles, bustles, etc. I had to put down a mental note that the lead male is a rock star! In contrast to Charlotte’s Jane Eyre, some sexual scenes are depicted in this novel. I’m not sure if Bronte added some ‘spice’ in Jane Eyre but Lindner did.

Before I end my review, I would like to share who I envisage playing as Nico Rathburn and Jane Moore. To me, it would be none other than Ben Barnes who’s known for his portrayal as Prince Caspian in Narnia, and Ashley Greene who plays Alice Cullen in The Twilight Saga. Why? Well, let’s just say that Ben Barnes looks is just how Jane Moore describe him to be: dashing smile, perfect chiseled jaw, smoky eyes that makes you forget things, and his demeanor. While Ashley Greene emits that sense of innocence, pretty even without make up plus she has dimples just like Jane Moore.

So, who do you think might be perfect to play Jane Moore or Nico Rathburn? Hit me up with your thoughts in the comment box below!

Enjoy reading!

6 thoughts on “JANE by April Lindner (Book Review)

  1. Hello there, I discovered your website via Google even as searching for a comparable topic, your website got here up, it appears good. I’ve bookmarked to my favourites|added to bookmarks.

  2. I am extremely impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the structure to your weblog. Is this a paid subject or did you customize it yourself? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great weblog like this one these days..

    • Hi dating site,

      Thank you so much for dropping by my website. It is such an honor to be commended by my readers. Your comments are my motivation to write more. With regards to my weblog, I did it on my own except for the theme, which I give credit to the one who made this who I assume is a WordPress member but other than that, its all me. :)

Comments are closed.